Home > News > CHS Inc. owners elect seven board members during CHS Annual Meeting

CHS Inc. owners elect seven board members during CHS Annual Meeting

Officers of board also elected by board peers following annual meeting

CHS Inc. owners elected seven board members to three-year terms during the cooperative’s 2020 annual meeting held virtually Dec. 3 in Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota. CHS Inc. is the nation’s largest cooperative and a leading global agribusiness company owned by farmers, ranchers and cooperatives across the United States.

portrait of Cortney Wagner
Cortney Wagner, Hardin, Mont., was elected to the CHS Board of Directors at the 2020 CHS Annual Meeting. Six other directors were reelected to the board.

Newly elected to a three-year term is:

  • Cortney Wagner, a Hardin, Montana, resident, who succeeds Edward Malesich. Malesich retired from the Board of Directors on Dec. 3, 2020. Wagner was elected in Region 2, which represents CHS owners in Montana and Wyoming. Wagner is a first-generation cattle and hay producer. Her family has experience in farming and cooperative management dating back to 1939. She attended the University of North Dakota with a focus on finance and psychology. She has also served as a trust associate at 1st National Bank and Trust Company. She has been appointed to the Board’s Governance Committee and the CHS Foundation Board of Trustees.

Reelected to three-year terms are:

  • C.J. Blew, who operates a farm and ranch business in a family partnership in south-central Kansas, representing Region 8
  • Scott Cordes, who operates a corn and soybean farm near Wanamingo, Minnesota, representing Region 1
  • Jon Erickson, who raises grains and oilseeds and operates a commercial Hereford-Angus cow-calf business near Minot, North Dakota, representing Region 3
  • Tracy Jones, who raises corn, soybeans and wheat and feeds cattle near Kirkland, Illinois, representing Region 5
  • Perry Meyer, who raises corn, soybean and hogs near New Ulm, Minnesota, representing Region 1
  • Dan Schurr, who raises corn and soybeans near LeClaire, Iowa, and operates a commercial trucking business, representing Region 7

Following the annual meeting, the board held its annual reorganization meeting. Each of the following board members was elected to one-year officer terms:

  • Dan Schurr, chair
  • C.J. Blew, first vice chair
  • Jon Erickson, second vice chair
  • Russ Kehl, secretary-treasurer
  • Steve Riegel, assistant secretary-treasurer